Union County, NJ Marijuana Attorney
Serving Clients across Westfield, Elizabeth, Plainfield, Linden, and the greater Union County area
The laws regarding the possession, use, distribution, and cultivation of marijuana and hashish differ from state to state. In New Jersey, it is legal to posses and use marijuana only with a medical permit, while the cultivation and distribution of marijuana is similarly controlled. The possession and sale of marijuana paraphernalia is also illegal,
The penalties associated with violation of these laws vary depending on the quantity of marijuana found, but all convictions carry the potential for incarceration and monetary penalties.
At The Law Office of Edward S. Cooper, we have extensive experience defending clients across Westfield, Elizabeth, Plainfield, Linden, and the greater Union County area from marijuana and hashish charges of all kinds including possession, distribution, and cultivation. If you have been charged with any of these crimes, it is important that you retain experienced legal counsel to help defend you from severe monetary penalties, jail time, and protect your permanent criminal record.
Marijuana Possession Lawyer Plainfield, NJ
Unless you have a medical prescription for marijuana use, the possession of marijuana or marijuana alternatives such as hashish is illegal in New Jersey.
The consequences and penalties of a conviction for marijuana possession vary depending on the weight of marijuana found. The lowest category charge for marijuana possession is under 50 grams, and is considered a disorderly persons offense and not a criminal violation, while any quantity in excess of 50 grams is considered a criminal charge.
The penalties for a marijuana possession conviction are as follows:
- Less than 50 grams – Disorderly Persons Offense – Up to 6 months incarceration – Up to $1,000 fine
- Over 50 grams – Criminal Offense – Up to 1.5 years incarceration – Up to $25,000 fine
If the possession occurred in a school zone, penalties may also include community service and an increased monetary fine.
Marijuana Distribution Attorney Elizabeth, NJ
A charge of marijuana distribution or possession with intent to distribute carries even steeper penalties than simple marijuana possession charges. Only “alternate treatment centers” licensed by the state of New Jersey may distribute marijuana.
All marijuana distribution charges are considered criminal charges, and depending on the weight of marijuana found, the penalties are:
- Less than 1 Ounce – Up to 1.5 years incarceration – Up to $25,000 fine
- Between 1 Ounce and 5 Pounds – Up to 3-5 years incarceration – Up to $25,000 fine
- Between 5 Pounds and 25 Pounds – Up to 5-10 years incarceration – Up to $150,000 fine
- More than 25 Pounds – 10-20 years incarceration – Up to $300,000 fine
Marijuana Cultivation Attorney Union County, NJ
The cultivation or growth of marijuana plants is illegal in New Jersey. By law, only six different non-profit alternate treatment centers in New Jersey may cultivate marijuana for the specific purpose of medical use.
All marijuana cultivation charges are considered criminal charges, and the penalties are as following:
- Less than 10 Plants (1 Ounce – 5 Pounds) – Up to 3-5 years incarceration – Up to $25,000 fine
- 10-50 Plants (5 Pounds – 25 Pounds) – Up to 5-10 years incarceration – Up to $150,000 fine
- 50 or more Plants (More than 25 Pounds) – Up to 10-20 years incarceration – Up to $300,000)
Marijuana Paraphernalia Lawyer Westfield, NJ
The possession or use of marijuana paraphernalia is considered a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey, punishable by up to 6 months in prison and up to $1,000 fine.
The sale of marijuana paraphernalia is a fourth degree crime, punishable by up to 18 months in prison and a $10,000 fine, while the sale of marijuana paraphernalia to a minor is a third degree crime punishable by up to 3-5 years imprisonment and a $25,000 fine.
Medical Marijuana Laws in New Jersey
Marijuana is now a legally accepted alternative treatment for many different medical disorders in New Jersey.
If you are suffering from cancer, glaucoma, multiple sclerosis, HIV/AIDS, seizures, Lou Gehig’s disease, muscular dystrophy, severe muscle spasms, Crohn’s disease, inflammatory bowel disease, or any terminal illness (defined as any illness which a physician certifies will result in the patient’s death within one year), you may apply for a medical marijuana prescription through an alternative treatment center, of which there are currently six in the state, all of which are non-profit centers.
With a medical marijuana prescription, patients may legally acquire medical marijuana from licensed centers, but still may not cultivate their own marijuana.
Contact a Union Marijuana Attorney Today
At The Law Office of Edward S. Cooper, we have helped defend many clients across Westfield, Plainfield, Union, Linden, and the greater Union County area from marijuana charges of all kinds including marijuana possession, possession of marijuana with intent to distribute, marijuana distribution, marijuana cultivation, and possession and sale of marijuana paraphernalia.
All marijuana charges other than possession of marijuana less than 50 grams are criminal charges, and as such have the potential to impact the employment status and future opportunities for anyone convicted. In addition, steep monetary penalties and extended prison sentences make any marijuana charge a serious, life-impacting charge. As such, it is critical that you retain an experienced and effective criminal defense attorney to help protect your rights, future, both financially and legally.
To schedule a free and confidential consultation with our office today regarding your Union County marijuana charge, please contact us online or through our Linden office at (908) 481-4625.